Revealing a panoramic landscape as immortal as time itself…
In 1897, when Queen Victoria celebrated 60 years on the throne and in her honour the cart road that led along the side of the hills from the Wyche Cutting was surfaced, extended to the British Camp and given the name Jubilee Drive.
Ten years after that scenic route with its stunning views was created, a small workman’s cottage was built about 100 yards downhill off the roadway on an area called Gardener’s Common, roughly midway between the Wyche and the Camp.
Twenty years later, in 1928, the little property was enlarged into a fashionable English tea room by a lady called Miss Millle Stephens, who named it the Kettle Sings. The cafe was an immediate hit with visitors to the hills and walkers, who would take tea and cake and simply enjoy the panorama stretching out before them. It is not surprising that Elgar, who is believed to have liked to take afternoon tea at the cafe, used these views for inspiration.